BINGHAMTON UNIVERSITY

MINUTES OF THE September 19, 2016 MEETING OF THE GRADUATE COUNCIL

PLACE: Couper Administration Building - Room148

PRESIDING: Susan Strehle, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

MEMBERS: Elizabeth Anderson (for Adam Laats), Subimal Chatterjee, Heather DeHaan,

Shelley Dionne, Alistair Lees, Michael Lewis, Patrick Madden, Elizabeth Mellin, Pamela Mischen, Rosmarie Morewedge, Nagen Nagarur (for Mohammad Khasawneh), Sara Reiter, Vicky Rizzo, Daryl Santos, Gale Spencer, Leigh Ann

Wheeler

GSO: Abdulrahman Alwuhayb, Jenn Dum, Kendall Geed, Plash Sachdeva,

EX OFFICIO

MEMBERS: Mary Beth Curtin, Sarah Lam, Curtis Kendrick, Paul Parker

EXCUSED/ABSENT: Anne Clark, Fernando Guzman, Kevin Hatch, Ricardo Laremont, Tim Perry,

Pam Sandoval, Libby Tucker

I. CALL TO ORDER:

Dean Susan Strehle called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm.

II. WELCOME and INTRODUCTIONS

Dean Strehle welcomed all returning and new council members. A brief session was held so members could introduce themselves. There are five new faculty members, 4 new GSO representatives and one new Ex-Officio member.

III. MINUTES

The minutes from the April 18, 2016 Graduate Council meeting were approved as written.

IV. COMMITTEES

<u>Academic Standards Committee</u> This committee has not met. However there are items for discussion coming up and this committee will be meeting soon.

Advisory Committee for Scholarship and Research This committee met on September 19, 2016. ACSR is the subcommittee of the Graduate Council that advises the VP for Research on all matters of scholarship and research. The membership includes members from the Graduate Council, the TAE chairs (invited as ex-officio members), and a few additional members appointed by the VPR so that every school is represented. ACSR \P] \(\lambda \lambda \cdot^ \cdot \lambda \

Student Affairs/Budget Advisory Committee This committee has not met.

Clark Advisory Committee This committee has not met.